Truman State University

Iota Phi Theta

Iota Phi Theta

On September 19, 1963, on the campus of Morgan State College (now Morgan State University), 12 students founded what is now the nation’s fifth largest, predominately African-American social service fraternity: Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.

The founders of Iota Phi Theta are Albert Hicks, Lonnie Spruill, Jr., Charles Briscoe, Frank Coakley, John Slade, Barron Willis, Webster Lewis, Charles Brown, Louis Hundell, Charles Gregory, Elias Dorsey, Jr., and Micheal Williams.

Based upon their ages, heightened responsibilities, and increased level of maturity, this group had a slightly different perspective than the norm for college students. It was this perspective from which they established the Fraternity’s purpose. “The development and perpetuation of Scholarship, Leadership, Citizenship, Fidelity, and Brotherhood among Men.” The fraternity’s motto is “Building a Tradition, Not Resting Upon One!”

A chapter has not been established at Truman State
National Website¬†–¬†

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *